Navigation mit Access Keys

SwissFungiNeomycetes

Neomycetes

Main menu

 

Neomycetes are fungi which are not native to Switzerland and which were introduced from other parts of the world. The vast majority of neomycetes were probably introduced unintentionally due to the increase in global trade, and only a very small proportion may have migrated naturally due to e.g. global warming. As for other organisms, the discovery of America in 1492 (symbolic beginning of globalisation) represents a key year for neomycetes. Every non-native species that was introduced later that 1492 is defined as neomycete.

The majority of these newcomers are inconspicuous and mostly harmless pathogens, but a few can have catastrophic effects on our ecosystems. A current example of a devastating introduced pathogen represents the fungus Hymenoscyphus fraxineus native to Asia. This tiny fungus was presumably introduced in Poland in the 90ies and was detected in Switzerland in 2008 for the first time. Today, the fungus is found all over the country and poses a serious threat to ash trees and all theirs associated organisms. Other dangerous tree diseases that are caused by non-native invasive pathogens include elm wilt and chestnut blight. The potato blight, which caused the potatoe famine in the middle of the 19th century and cost the lives of over a million people in Europe, is also a neomycete. Finally, the chytrid fungus (Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis and B. salamandrivorans), which is considered the main causal agent of the worldwide observed chytridiomycosis disease in amphibians, is also one of them.

Beside these aggressive neomycetes also some harmless but very aesthetic fungi like the octopus stinkhorn (Clathrus archeri) or the latticed stinkhorn (Clathrus ruber) have to be mentioned.

Fortunately, there is only one species that is also relevant for mushroom pickers. It is the paralysis funnel (Clitocybe amoenolens), a dangerous poisonous fungus that has migrated to Switzerland from the Mediterranean region and that resembles certain edible native fungi (for more information on this species, please click here).

This webpage gives an overview about neomycetes in Switzerland. In the subcategories you will find a short version of the WSL report "Neomycetes in Switzerland" (in German), an explanation how to report neomycetes, several fact sheets to important neomycetes and a collection of links futher information about neomycetes. In our distribution atlas  SwissFungi the current distribution of the desired species can be viewed.

 
Image 1 of 8
With the octopus stinkhorn (Clathrus archeri) one could easily think of a creature from a foreign world. But this mushroom does not come from so far away. Mycologists suspect that he was brought to Europe from Australia in 1913 with wool deliveries. The octopus stinkhorn produces a carrion-like stench that can be smelled from afar. This attracts flies, which then are to provide for the further spread of the spores. Photo: Markus Wilhelm
Image 2 of 8
The latticed stinkhorn (Clathrus ruber), originating from the Mediterranean area, is in no way inferior to the octopus stinkhorn in terms of curiosity. The latticed stinkhorn is mainly found in gardens, while the octopus stinkhorn is also found in natural habitats. Photo: Max Danz
Image 3 of 8
The paralysis funnel (Clitocybe amoenolens) is a Mediterranean fungus that has naturally migrated to Switzerland with climate change. This dangerous poisonous fungus is very similar to certain domestic edible mushroom species that have been removed from the VAPKO edible mushroom list as a consequence. Photo: Francis Meigniez
Image 4 of 8
[Translate to Englisch:] Der Goldrutenrost (Coleosporium solidaginis) gehört zu den ebenfalls parasitischen Rostpilzen. Er wurde zusammen mit der Spätblühenden Goldrute (Solidago gigantea) aus Nordamerika nach Europa eingeschleppt. Besonders im Tessin scheint dieser Pilz schon recht verbreitet zu sein. Bemerkenswerterweise hat es der Goldrutenrost geschafft, auf die heimische Europäische Goldrute (Solidago virgaurea) überzuspringen und auch diese zu befallen. Bild: Ludwig Beenken
Image 5 of 8
The most frequent fungus-group among the neomycetes are the parasitically living Erysiphales, to which also Erysiphe vanbruntiana var. sambuci-racemosae counts. In contrast to most neomycetes, this species can also be found frequently in natural habitats and rises in the Alps to almost 2000 m.a.s.l. Sambucus racemosa, which is given a striking whitish coating by the fungus, is particularly affected. Photo: Ludwig Beenken
Image 6 of 8
The particularly attractive orange pore fungus Favolaschia calocera originates from the tropics and is considered today in many regions of the world as potentially invasive Neomycet. It probably reached Genoa in Italy with timber exports from New Zealand and then migrated naturally to Ticino, where it was first found in 2015. Photo: Katia Balmelli
Image 7 of 8
Pycnoporellus fulgens is mainly found on deadwood, which was already colonized by the red belt conk. Since the first confirmed discovery reports of this striking fungus date only from the 1970s, it might also be a neomycetes here. The path of introduction and origin of this woody fungus remain in the dark for the time being. Interestingly, the species native to Scandinavia is regarded as a bioindicator for natural forest and is on the red list of several Nordic countries. Photo: Kurt Bisang.
Image 8 of 8
Suillus placidus forms a root symbiosis (mycorrhiza) with several five-needle pine species and was probably introduced to Switzerland together with these. It is particularly found in parks, where the host trees (especially the Weymouth pine) have been planted. Since it can also mycorrhize with the native Swiss stone pine, it also occurs in natural forest communities, especially in the Grisons. Suillus placidus is one of the few introduced edible mushroom species. Photo: Max Danz
 

FURTHER INFORMATION

Navigation mit Access Keys

SwissFungiNéomycètes

Néomycètes

Menu principal

 

Les néomycètes sont des champignons qui ne sont pas originaires de Suisse et qui nous viennent d'autres parties du monde. La grande majorité des néomycètes ont probablement été introduits involontairement en raison de l'augmentation du commerce mondial, et seule une très faible proportion a pu migrer naturellement en raison du réchauffement climatique. Comme pour d'autres organismes, la découverte de l'Amérique en 1492 (début symbolique de la mondialisation) a été choisie comme l'année clé à partir de laquelle on parle des néomycètes pour les champignons introduits.

La majorité de ces nouveaux venus sont des ravageurs discrets et pour la plupart bénins, mais quelques-uns peuvent avoir des effets catastrophiques sur nos écosystèmes. Un exemple actuel en est le dépérissement des pousses du frêne causée par le champignon Hymenoscyphus fraxineus introduit d'Asie. Ce petit champignon, qui a été identifié pour la première fois en Suisse en 2008 et que l'on trouve aujourd'hui dans tout le pays, représente une menace sérieuse pour le frêne et tous les organismes qui lui sont associés dans nos forêts. Parmi les autres maladies dangereuses des plantes importées figurent la graphiose de l’orme et et le chancre de l’écorce du châtaignier. La pourriture de la pomme de terre, qui a provoqué la famine au milieu du XIXe siècle et coûté la vie à plus d'un million de personnes en Europe, est également un néomycète. Enfin, le champignon chytride (Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis et B. salamandrivorans), qui se dissémine avec l'eau et est considéré comme la cause principale de la forte mortalité des amphibiens observée dans le monde, en fait également partie.

A côté de ces néomycètes agressifs, il faut aussi mentionner des beautés inoffensives comme l'Anthurus d'Archer ou le clathre rouge.

Le nombre d'espèces nouvellement introduites, qui sont également importantes pour le ramasseur de champignons comestibles, est faible. Mais avec Clitocybe amoenolens, un champignon toxique dangereux a également migré de la région méditerranéenne vers la Suisse.

Ce site web donne un premier aperçu des néomycètes en Suisse. Dans les sous-catégories, vous trouverez une version abrégée du rapport du WSL «Les néomycètes en Suisse», une explication sur la manière de signaler les néomycètes, plusieurs Fiches d'espèces et une collection de liens vers les néomycètes. Sur SwissFungi, vous pouvez consulter la répartition actuelle des espèces souhaitées.

 
Photo 1 de 8
Avec l'Anthurus des archers (Clathrus archeri) on pourrait facilement penser à une créature d'un monde étranger. Mais ce champignon ne semble pas venir de si loin. Les mycologues soupçonnent qu'il a été amené d'Australie en Europe en 1913 avec des livraisons de laine. Le champignon pieuvre produit une odeur de charogne que l'on peut sentir de loin. Cela attire les mouches, qui doivent ensuite assurer la dissémination des spores. Photo: Markus Wilhelm
Photo 2 de 8
Le Pleurote gélatineux (Clathrus ruber), originaire de la région méditerranéenne, n'est en aucun cas inférieur au champignon pieuvre en termes de curiosité. A l'inverse, on trouve le treillis principalement dans les jardins, tandis que le calamar champignon se trouve aussi dans les habitats naturels. Photo: Max Danz
Photo 3 de 8
Clitocybe amoenolens est un champignon méditerranéen qui a naturellement migré en Suisse avec le changement climatique. Ce champignon toxique dangereux est très similaire à certaines espèces de champignons comestibles domestiques qui en conséquence ont été retirées de la liste des champignons comestibles du VAPKO. Photo: Francis Meigniez
Photo 4 de 8
[Translate to Französisch:] Der Goldrutenrost (Coleosporium solidaginis) gehört zu den ebenfalls parasitischen Rostpilzen. Er wurde zusammen mit der Spätblühenden Goldrute (Solidago gigantea) aus Nordamerika nach Europa eingeschleppt. Besonders im Tessin scheint dieser Pilz schon recht verbreitet zu sein. Bemerkenswerterweise hat es der Goldrutenrost geschafft, auf die heimische Europäische Goldrute (Solidago virgaurea) überzuspringen und auch diese zu befallen. Bild: Ludwig Beenken
Photo 5 de 8
Le groupe de champignons le plus fréquent parmi les néomycètes est le mildiou vivant parasitaire, auquel s'ajoute ce «mildiou du sureau» (Erysiphe vanbruntiana var. sambuci-racemosae). Contrairement à la plupart des néomycètes, cette espèce se rencontre aussi fréquemment dans les milieux naturels et s'élève dans les Alpes à près de 2000 m. Le Sureau à grappes (Sambucus racemosa), qui reçoit un revêtement blanchâtre marqué du champignon, est particulièrement affecté. Photo: Ludwig Beenken
Photo 6 de 8
Le petit champignon du bois Favolaschia calocera, particulièrement attrayant, est originaire des tropiques et est considéré aujourd'hui dans de nombreuses régions du monde comme un néomycet potentiellement envahissant. Il a probablement atteint Gênes en Italie avec des exportations de bois de Nouvelle-Zélande et a ensuite migré naturellement vers le Tessin, où il a été trouvé pour la première fois en 2015. Photo: Katia Balmelli
Photo 7 de 8
Pycnoporellus fulgens se trouve principalement sur le bois mort, qui était déjà colonisé par l'éponge à lisière rouge. Comme les premiers rapports confirmant la découverte de ce champignon ostensible ne datent que des années 1970, il pourrait aussi s'agir d'un néomycète ici. Le chemin d'introduction et l'origine de ce champignon en bois restera pour l'instant dans l'obscurité. Il est intéressant de noter que l'espèce originaire de Scandinavie est considérée comme un repère forestier naturel et figure sur la liste rouge de plusieurs pays nordiques. Photo: Kurt Bisang
Photo 8 de 8
Suillus placidus forme une symbiose racinaire (mycorhize) avec plusieurs espèces de pins à cinq aiguilles et a probablement été introduite en Suisse avec celles-ci. On le trouve particulièrement dans les parcs, où les arbres hôtes (en particulier le pin de Weymouth) ont été plantés. Comme il peut aussi mycorhize avec le pin sylvestre indigène, il est également présent dans les communautés forestières naturelles, en particulier dans les Grisons. Suillus placidus est l'une des rares espèces de champignons comestibles introduites. Photo: Max Danz
 

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS